IHE News

IHE thanks Dr. Lorne Tyrrell, IHE Board of Directors Chair, for his leadership, service, and commitment

The IHE announced today that Dr. D. Lorne Tyrrell will be moving on from his position as Chair of the IHE Board of Directors, effective September 30, 2018.

It is with sadness and great appreciation that the IHE today announces that Dr. Lorne Tyrrell has completed his term as Chair of the IHE Board of Directors. Dr. Tyrrell’s tenure as Board Chair can best be characterized as kind, forward-thinking, and people-focused. Under his tenure, the IHE grew from a small handful of researchers to over 30 employees, with a focus on excellence in health economics research and health technology assessment.

Lorne Tyrrell profile pictureOver the past 14 years, Dr. Lorne Tyrrell’s service as Chair of the IHE Board of Directors has seen the IHE grow into one of Canada’s leading trusted, independent, not-for-profit research organizations,” said Dr. McCabe, the IHE’s CEO and Executive Director. “The IHE is a unique organization, bringing together government, academia, the health system, and industry, with a mission to inform coordinated, innovative, evidence-guided health policy and practice. Dr. Tyrrell’s strong support of this vision has brought the organization to being highly respected in the Alberta healthcare system and beyond.

Dr. Tyrrell succeeded the Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski as Chair of the IHE Board of Directors in 2004. Prior to joining the IHE as Board Chair, Dr. Tyrrell was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Tyrrell holds the GSK Chair in Virology in the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Alberta. His research into viral hepatitis led to the development of the first oral antiviral agent to treat chronic hepatitis B infection, lamivudine, in 1998. Today, lamivudine is licensed in over 200 countries worldwide for the treatment of HBV. For his work on viral hepatitis, Dr. Tyrrell has received numerous awards, including the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2000, Officer in the Order of Canada in 2002, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2004. In 2010, he was instrumental in securing a $28 million donation from the Li Ka Shing Foundation to help establish the Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology at the University of Alberta.

He was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in 2011, and was a Killam Prize winner in 2015. He is a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Alberta.

Under Dr. Tyrrell’s guidance as Board Chair, the IHE grew and flourished, becoming the secretariat for Health Technology Assessment international (HTAi), the International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA), the Network of Alberta Health Economists (NOAHE), and the Alberta Real World Evidence Consortium, as well as the provincial program for health technology assessment in Alberta. The IHE also became a dedicated partner in health economics analysis with Alberta researchers and decision-makers on national and provincial granting agency competitions.

The IHE thanks Dr. Tyrrell for his outstanding service as Chair of the IHE Board of Directors, and wishes him well in all his future endeavors.

For more information and/or questions, please contact Jasmine Brown, Director of Communications.


Jasmine Brown
Director of Communications, Institute of Health Economics
Office: (780) 448-4881 | Direct: (780) 401-1768