Value in Health Forum: Standards, Quality, and Economics

Value in Health Forum: Key People

Speaker Biographies

Dr. Carl Amrhein
Deputy Minister of Health

Dr. Carl Amrhein was appointed Deputy Minister, Alberta Health on August 4, 2015. Prior to this, he was the Official Administrator for Alberta Health Services and served as Provost for the University of Alberta from 2003 to 2014

Dr. Francois Belanger
Vice President, Quality and Chief Medical Officer for Alberta Health Services (AHS)

Dr. Belanger is a member of the executive leadership team for AHS and oversees the integration and coordination of quality in a complex health delivery model for the province and maintaining effective partnerships with academic institutions and other system partners.

Dr. Reinhard Busse
Co-founder, European Observatory on Health Systems

Dr. Busse is head of the Berlin hub of the European Health Observatory on Health Systems and Policies, is a member of several scientific advisory boards, as well as a regular consultant for WHO, the EU Commission, the World Bank, OECD, and other international organizations within Europe and beyond.

Mr. Tim Gardner
Senior Policy Fellow, Health Foundation

Mr. Gardner is a key author on the 2015 Health Foundation Report Creating a Coherent Quality Strategy for the NHS (2015). Mr. Gardner was a Senior Policy Advisor in the NHS Strategy and Delivery Unit and has worked on a range of areas including primary care, cancer, and mental health as an NHS performance manager and was Assistant Private Secretary to the Chief Medical Officer.

Dr. Richard Glazier
Senior Core Scientest and Chair of the Primary Care and Population Health Program at ICES

Dr. Glazier is a family physician with public health and epidemiology training. His primary research interests are the delivery of primary health care services (including an examination of primary care reform models); equity in health care delivery for disadvantaged urban populations; and the application of geographic methods in health research.

Dr. Andreas Laupacis
Chair, Health Quality Ontario

Dr. Laupacis is a general internist and the Executive Director of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital. He is a Professor at the University of Toronto in both the Department of Medicine and the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, and former member of the Board of Directors for Alberta Health Services.

Dr. Robert Nesse
Senior Medical Advisor, Healthcare Policy and Payment Reform for Mayo Clinic

Prior to Dr. Nesse's current appointment as Senior Medical Advisor with Mayo Clinic, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Mayo Clinic Health System. From 2004 until 2010 he was President and CEO of Franciscan Skemp Healthcare, Mayo Clinic Health System. Dr. Nesse received his MD from the Wayne State University School of Medicine, completed his residency training at Oakwood Hospital in Dearborn, Michigan, and was Board-certified in Family Medicine.

Dr. Blair O’Neill
Associate Chief Medical Officer, Strategic Clinical Networks, Alberta Health Services

The Strategic Clinical Networks are intended to improve the publicly funded health care system by using evidence to improve value for money, develop clinical pathways and publish measures and performance across quality dimensions, to prioritize outcomes and interventions for improvement across the health system.

Dr. Meredith Rosenthal
Professor of Economics and Associate Dean, School of Public Health, Harvard University

Dr. Rosenthal’s research focuses primarily on policies that will help slow the growth in healthcare spending and improve value. These efforts include changes in payment incentives, benefit design, and the provision of information and behavioral “nudges” to both patients and providers.

Dr. Murray Ross
Vice President and Lead, Kaiser Health Policy Institute, Kaiser Permanente

An economist by training, Dr. Ross speaks frequently to domestic and international audiences on a wide range of health care and policy topics. He serves on a number of academic and non-profit boards. Before joining Kaiser Permanente in 2002, he was an advisor to the U.S. Congress, first at the Congressional Budget Office and later as executive director of the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission.

Ms. Leslee Thompson
President and CEO of Accreditation Canada

Starting her career as a critical care nurse, Leslee has over 25 years of health care experience that extends from the bedside to the boardrooms of some of Canada’s largest and most innovative public and private sector organizations. In the public sector, Leslee was President and CEO of Kingston General Hospital, Vice-President of Cancer Care Ontario, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Sunnybrook and Women’s Health Sciences Centre, Chief Operating Officer of Toronto Western Hospital at University Health Network and Senior Operating Officer of Royal Alexander Hospital at Capital Health, Alberta. In the private sector she served as Vice-President of Health System Strategies Canada for Medtronic, and was also on the Board of Directors at Shoppers Drug Mart for six years and is a Certified Corporate Director.